Skip to content

Marathon Training, Week 3: Ten Miles, London Grammar, and a Really Big Fish.

August 18, 2016

First of all, I started a new blog, dedicated solely (get it?) to my passion for running, and the various and sundry incidents and accidents I encounter along my journey. So sit back, lace up, and enjoy!

Today was going to be my big 10 miler – the training run that would really set the pace for the rest of them. I was actually a little nervous. Although I love running, it’s not like I go out and run 10 miles every day. In fact, I usually only do it once or twice a year, and that’s only when I’m running an actual race. So this was kind of a big deal (in true the Ron Burgundy sense).

I started late. And not just a half hour late, but like 3 hours later than I planned. I worked late, so I slept late, and the cat was being cute and cuddly for once, so I cut myself a break and allowed for a late start, with no guilt.

IMG_7029

I dare you to try and say no to that.

Then, when I was just about to walk out the door, the lawn guys showed up, and I felt all self conscious and didn’t want to interrupt their mowing, so I waited another 20 minutes. By the time I actually stepped foot out the door, it was 11am. Better late than never.

Learning from my previous two weeks worth of mistakes, this time I drove to the park and put a full, cold water bottle in the car. I also changed up my music selection, going with a London Grammar Pandora Station to give me some extra beats to pound the road to. And I made a slight change to my route. Normally, I run the 1 mile loop around the park. I really wasn’t looking forward to running the same loop 10 times, so I mapped out what a two mile loop would look like ahead of time, and seeing that the only challenge would be crossing a main road and hoping that all vehicles do actually stop for pedestrians in the crosswalk, I decided to give it a go.

A little change really does do you good, and after running the two mile loop twice (with London Grammar in full force) and realizing I had already done 4 miles, I was stoked. This 10 miler was in the bag!

It was hot. REALLY hot. And REALLY humid. There were hardly any other folks in the park, which was good for me, because sometimes I feel the urge to compete with other runners, and I really didn’t want to do that on a long run on a hot day. What I did see around mile 5.5, was a man fishing. As I came closer, I realized he had just caught a really big fish (how big was it?) and he was taking a selfie with it. I started to smile. I began imagining what he was going to do with that selfie – post it to social media? Frame it and put it on his mantel? Send it to his mother? Maybe he writes a blog about his fishing achievements and he’s going to go home and post about this afternoon. Maybe he’ll mention the runner with the goofy smile who may or may not be in the background of his fish selfie (that would be me).

What it really made me think about was achievements.

Catching that really big fish was a really big deal for that young fisherman. Just as running 10 miles on an awfully hot day was a really big deal for me. We are all working toward something. We should all be proud of ourselves for working towards our goals. His goal to today was to catch a big fish, and he did it. Darn right he should frame that pic and send to his mother. For me, I texted my husband when I was done and said, “I did it!” We are allowed to share our achievements, especially when we work hard for them.

The thing is, right after the fish selfie incident, another runner blew past me – a young male with a determined look in his eye (both eyes, actually) and a need for speed. He also had something to achieve. And although he was faster than me, I began to understand that his achievement is no better than mine. We are all different. No one’s running the same race. Turns out, he stopped before I was finished. He achieved what he set out to do today – maybe set a new 5k time, or just run really, really fast. Whatever it was, it was not what I had set out to do, so there was no comparison and I was beginning to understand that. We both should have left that park proud, knowing we did what was best for each of us.

My run is not your run. Your fish is not my fish. We all want different things, we all work (and run) at a different pace. We all should be proud of what we’ve accomplished. And be ok with being passed by someone else. And be happy for them. You never know where they’re going. You only have your own shoes to walk or run or fish in. And no one else can ever take your place or catch your fish.

We have all won first place in our own race. I’m proud of you. You should be too. 🙂

2 Comments leave one →
  1. August 18, 2016 8:55 pm

    Pow, well done! 10 mile is a big deal. 😊

Leave a Reply

